T.R.H.s Prince Felipe and Princess Letizia of Asturias Attend an Awards Ceremony

T.R.H.s Prince Felipe and Princess Letizia of Asturias attended the Mariano de Cavia, Luca de Tena y Mingote Journalism Awards on November 29, 2011 in Madrid, Spain.  Per the royal house of Spain:

In his speech, Prince Felipe said ‘…the value of good journalism for the proper and healthy functioning of democracy…’ and recalled that serves as a ‘…basic support for diversity of ideas and opinions, essential to generate a strong and informed public opinion.’

‘The awards bring us together today is an indisputable reference for free expression and dissemination of ideas, that our Constitution proclaims the fundamental right of all citizens,’ said the Prince of Asturias, before reviewing the merits of the winners.

The award ‘Mariano de Cavia’ instituted in 1920, distinguishes signed articles or chronic or habitual pseudonym. The award ‘Luca de Tena’, created in 1929, recognizes outstanding journalistic career in the defense of the values that inspired the founding principles of ABC: technical innovation, literary and independence requirement information. The award ‘Mingote’ from 1966, is awarded alternately to jokes, cartoons or drawings and photographs.

The jury, chaired by the director of the Royal Spanish Academy, Jose Manuel Blecua, and composed of Antonio Mingote, Trevijano Pedro Gonzalez, Fernando Gonzalez and Jose Miguel Santiago Urbaneja Castelo, presented the award Mariano de Cavia, by majority vote, the article by Manuel Martin Ferrand ‘Citizen Vargas Llosa’ published in the newspaper ABC on October 9, 2010. The award ‘Luca de Tena’ was given also by majority vote, to Charles Moore for his brilliant career in journalism. And the award for ‘Mingote’ was granted by a majority, a vignette of ‘Quique’, published in the newspaper “Mediterranean”, on December 24, 2010.

The Prince and Princess of Asturias were accompanied at the ceremony by the president and editor of ABC, Catalina Luca de Tena, the president of Vocento, Diego del Alcázar and Silvela, Chairman of the Constitutional Court, Pascual Sala, the president of the Supreme Court and Council the Judiciary, Carlos Divar, the president of the Community of Madrid, Esperanza Aguirre, the Minister for Science and Innovation in office, Cristina Garmendia, the chairman of Grupo Santander (sponsor of the awards), Emilio Botin, and Director ABC Bieto Rubido, among others.

To view photos please click here and here.

Source and photo courtesy of: Casa de Su Majestad el Rey